Garbage Disposal Lore

Ace Garbage Disposal with 3/4 horsepower and 5-year warranty. Retails for $169.99 (sku: 47984)

I recently stuck my hand down my garbage disposal to fish out a rubber something or other. I held my breath the whole time. I felt like Chunk from the Goonies when he comes to Jesus with the Fratelli brother’s blender. As scary as these food and hand mincers are, they are crucial to Western culture, and when it breaks down…oy vey. I usually call my property manager for this type of work, but for those of you not lucky enough to be renters (ahem), you gotta do it yourself. Here’s a play by play of a clogged disposal (nasty water and all) and how to fix it.

Sometimes you need a new disposal, and we have purchasing recommendations:

1. Don’t go less than 1/2 horsepower. Jeremy suggests 5/8 or 3/4 horsepower if you plan on throwing down vegetables etc. everyday.

2. Larger motors tend to be quieter.

3. Larger motors also have longer warranties.

Installing your own is easy, but you should know what you are doing. Check out this how-to tutorial.

Leave a Reply

